Important: This information is published with referencial purposes only, we recommend to consult with your travel agent, or in the costa rican diplomatic representatives in your country.

When visiting Costa Rica as tourist, there are some common requirements to fulfill:

  • A valid, active and in good state passport
  • An air, land or ship ticket, of return to your country of origin.
  • Demonstrate economic solvency (100$ for each month of visit).

Estancias sin visa consular

Group 1, consists of the citizens of the following countries, do not require consular visa to enter Costa Rica, can stay up to 90 days in the country and passport can be valid for one day.

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Australia *, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Vatican City, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark *, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America *, Estonia, Finland, France *, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Norway *, New Zealand *, Netherlands *, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Monaco, Puerto Rico, San Marino, Serbia, South Africa, United Kingdom and Northern Ireland, Czech Republic, Republic of Korea, Romania, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay. * Includes dependent territories.

Group 2, consists on citizens of the following countries, do not require consular visa to enter Costa Rica, can stay in the country up to 30 days (extendable to 90) and your passport must be valid for three months.

Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Bolivia, Dominica, El Salvador, the Philippines, Fiji, Granada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Northern Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Maldives, Mauritius, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, United of Tonga, Samoa, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Suriname, Tuvalu, Turkey, Vanuatu and Venezuela.

Persons having valid visa for three months in the United States, Canada, South Korea, Japan and the European Union visa (Schengen visa in passport) or have legal permits (residence, work, study or refugee) of these countries may enter Costa Rica without consular visa.

Limited stay with cosular visa

Citizens of the not mentioned countries, belong to the groups 3 and 4 and need a consular visa to enter Costa Rica and a valid passport for at least six months. This visa allows a stay for 30 days, extendable to 90 days. In addition, there are other slight differences between some of these countries since they are two separate groups. For more details, you can read this document issued by the Costa Rican government.

To get further information visit: