Host Country

Costa Rica

Costa Rica is an Central American country with great touristic potential. It is rated
as one of the most visited international destinations. Tourism is one of its main income sources. Democratic and peaceful country, without army since 1949.

Despite being an small country covering just 0.03% of earth’s surface, it has the privilege of being the habitat of 5% of the worldwide existing biodiversity.

Costa Rica also has an excellent setting for investment and the establishment of major international companies, thanks to the outstanding academic level of its population, the good standard of modern services and social and political stability.


Official Language

Spanish. English it’s the second language for a vast majority of the population.

Official Religion

Catholic and plenty freedom of cult.

Official Currency


national symbols

La Guaria Morada:
Guarianthe skinneri (Bateman, 1838). It was declared national flower by Agreement No. 24 of June 15, 1939.

Yigüirro (National Bird):
Clay-colored thrush. It was declared the national bird the January 3, 1977.

National Flag:
Civilian use flag

Guanacaste Tree:
Enterolobium cyclocarpum. It was declared as the national tree of Costa Rica, on August 31, 1959.

Tipical Carriage:
Simbol of work. It was decreed National Symbol, on March 22, 1988.

Coat of Arms:
Current from the May 5, 1998.

División Administrativa

Costa Rica majestically extends from the Pacific to the Caribbean in only 200 miles. Its surface occupies only 20 thousand square miles.

Traveling through the provinces of Costa Rica, it is easy to realize there is no other place you shall find fields with so many variations in their landscape and climate.

Costa Rica is one of the most popular tourist destinations on the planet. This small piece of land includes all necessary components to satisfy the taste of thousands of travelers who visit each year.

Costa Rica has 7 provinces: San José, Alajuela, Cartago, Heredia, Guanacaste, Puntarenas and Limón. Together they offer an attractive tourist
destination with infinite possibilities, include extensive rainforests, volcanoes, rivers, mountains and beaches. Everything safeguarded by an important national organization of parks and forest reserves.

The WALC 2015 will take place in the Province of Alajuela.